Saturday, January 31, 2009

Album Review: Burning Hearts - Aboa Sleeping (2009)

Indie Pop, oh what a genre it is, and it's always such a pleasure to discover a new artist that warms your heart as much as Burning Hearts. I hope they do the same for you too. In their debut release, "Aboa Sleeping", you are just all around happy all the way through as Jessika Rapo and Henry Ojala take you on an exciting musical venture. The opening track, "I Lost My Colour Vision" is upbeat, bright and has a simple, yet wonderful chorus which paves the way for the rest of the album. "We Walked Among the Trees" with its very entrancing synth melody and the almost-experimental, looming "The Galloping Horse" stood out the most to me. From the near-ambient intro to "Sea Birds" to the poppy drum beat of "A Peasant's Dream", this duo from Finland is sure to please any fan of Indie Pop. Give them a listen when you've got time.

Aboa Sleeping will be released on February 10th, 2009 via Shelflife Records.

1. I Lost My Colour Vision
2. Iris
3. Various Lives
4. The Galloping Horse
5. We Walked Among the Trees
6. Sea Birds
7. A Peasant's Dream
8. Close To Her
9. Aboa Sleeping


A few other bands to check out, if you enjoy Burning Hearts:
- Asobi Seksu
- Mates of State
- Page France

No comments: